Tuesday, November 21, 2017



Warning Call 
Danny Bell
(The Black Pages, #2)
Publication date: December 21st 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Elana Black. Saving the day even if she has to tear a hole in the universe to do it.
An unbeatable mythological horror has its sights set on Elana, and that’s not the worst of her problems. Gods want to use her, shadowy agents want to eliminate her, and a powerful sorcerer wants to kill her; all as she rushes to stop an event which portends the death of her best friend, Olivia. It’s all catching up with her, and just in time for Christmas. Elana is going to have to figure out how all of it is connected but she’s in over her head, outnumbered, and running out of time.
And she always thought magic would make her life easier.
There is also a limited release cover:


Author Bio:
My name is Danny Bell. I want to tell stories and avoid writing author profiles. I read—when I should be interacting with people, I named my cat after a cat I liked in a book, I’m pretty sure I saw a ghost one time—though I’ll never admit it publicly, I’m too tall for the earth, and I’ve never eaten a vegetable. I lied about the vegetable part. Wait… is someone going to read this?

XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM No comments

Monday, November 20, 2017



Marrying an Alien Pop Star 
Kendra L. Saunders
(Alien Pop Star #3)
Published by: Crimson Tree Publishing
Publication date: November 20th 2017
Genres: Adult, Comedy, Romance, Science Fiction

Daisy and her alien fiancĂ© Griffin are planning a big wedding, but not just any big wedding – the biggest wedding the universe has ever seen. Daisy has been settling into life on Griffin’s home world of Kalesstria, running her own intergalactic music shop and planning for the big day. But things hit a road bump when there’s a problem with Griffin’s father – and it’s a little more complicated than the usual disapproving dad drama. Looks like “save the date” is going to have to take a backseat to saving the universe…
Marrying an Alien Pop Star is the perfect laugh-out-loud romantic finale to the beloved Alien Pop Star series.
EXCERPT:
Somehow, every time I return to Earth, the awful smells that make up New York City seem even more welcome to my nose. A woman can only be without the olfactory cocktail of garbage, cheap coffee, morning cigarettes, and desperate hangovers for so long.
Finally, finally, here Griffin, Dev and I are, setting foot in the East Village with nothing but our clothes, one bag, and a bunch of semi-counterfeited money. Okay, not semi-counterfeited. Completely counterfeited. Griffin and Dev can create stacks of fake Earth currencies with almost no effort, which is disconcerting if I think about it for too long. I try not think about it at all, actually.
Griffin tips himself over a filthy looking garbage can and throws up for all he’s worth. I wander away a little and stare at taxis rolling by, willing my own stomach to calm down.
I’ve ‘traveled’ through space several times with Griffin, but it really doesn’t make it any easier, evidenced by my stomach’s gleeful attempt to empty everything inside it as soon as we land at our destination. Usually, I can bully my stomach into calming down before anything actually manages to come up, but the same can’t be said for Griffin. Somehow, he’s a million times worse at traveling through space than I am, despite his people’s advanced capabilities.
And see, I love him, and aspire to comfort him when he’s feeling sad or sick, but I know better than to get too close at a time like this. Besides, that’s exactly what Griffin’s best friend Dev is for.
Aforementioned best friend makes a beeline for Griffin, sidling up to him and patting him on the back. “It’s alright,” he says, in the special soothing voice he uses for Griffin in times of stomach disaster. “Just breathe through your nose, Griff. Pretend you’re on a horizon. Everything is still. Nothing moves. You’re weightless and blissful.”
Griffin raises his head and grumbles something about not feeling very blissful, and then lurches forward to vomit again.
Where Griffin is dark haired and pale and pointy, Dev’s handsomely golden in every respect. His skin always looks freshly sun-kissed, and his big gray eyes seem rested even when he hasn’t slept. He’s a calming force on everyone he comes into contact with, even his manic best friend. “Find your calm, Griff. You’re alright. You’re weightless and–”
“I’m not alright!” Griffin replies, flailing his hands around while still leaned fully over the bin.
Dev pats Griffin on the back. “I’m proud of you, Griff. You programmed our trip this time, and you didn’t kill any of us.”
His praise is justified, because this is actually kind of a big deal. Griffin is infamously terrible at travel, and has sent himself to a few dangerous places by accident over the years. Of course, reminding him of this fact never goes over well, and today is no exception. He raises his head again to pin Dev with a nasty look.
“I happen to be…” he starts to say, and then takes a long pause, “somewhat better at traveling than I used to be, thank you very much.” With that, he pukes again, and Dev bites his lower lip to keep from smiling.

Author Bio:
Kendra L. Saunders is a time-and-space traveling fashionista author who writes books about magical, dark-haired men, interviews famous people, and suggests way too many bands to you via whatever social media platform she can get her hands on. She writes with good humor because humor is the best weapon for a girl who can't learn karate (or ballroom dancing). She's the author of the Alien Pop Star series, The Unlove Spell, magic realism novel Inanimate Objects, the dark comedy Death and Mr. Right, and the poetry collection Geminis and Past Lives.

XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM No comments

Sunday, November 19, 2017



The Billionaire’s Secret
Mika Lane
Publication date: December 6th 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

He’s straight as an arrow on the outside. And crooked as sin on the inside.
By day, Varden Gallagher goes to work at One Market Street, where he’s manager of a big, successful hedge fund. He’s powerful, wealthy, and can have any woman he wants. But at night he slides into a secret world. One where wealth and power count for nothing, and all that matters are your desires, and how you control them. Or don’t.
When he sees his business associate’s daughter—fresh out of college reporter Saffi Bartlett —at the secret Club Silk, he decides to have some fun. Little does he know, the joke’s on him, and it looks like his sinful ways won’t be hush-hush for much longer.
After all, isn’t it the straightest arrow that eventually breaks?


Author Bio:
Writing has been a passion of Mika’s since a young age (her first book was "The Day I Ate the Milkyway"), but erotic romance is now what gives purpose to her days and nights. She lives in magical Northern California with her own handsome alpha dude, sometimes known as Mr. Mika Lane, and an evil cat named Bill. A devotee of the intelligent and beautiful, and lover of shiny things, she’s a yogi, hiker, traveler, thinker, observer, and book worm. She has been known to drink cheap champagne and has way too many shoes.
A National Reader's Choice Awards finalist, Mika always deliver a hot, sexy romp, often with imperfect characters, and a promised happily ever after (or at least happy for now).
She LOVES to hear from readers, and can be found at www.mikalane.com, and facebook.com/mikalaneauthor, when she's not dreaming up naughty tales to share.

XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM No comments

Welcome to the Sunday Post!
 A weekly meme hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer

 It lets everyone know what happened during our week.. 


 So check it out.

Hey fellow Shooting Stars!! 

Another week bites the dust! 
And I can't believe it is almost Thanksgiving! YAY. 

I'm super excited about that, and I'm excited my son will be out of school for a week as well. No more getting up early, ha! 

On top of that, I've read a lot of great books lately, mainly cozy mystery books, and a few others. I've also found a few NetGalley Christmas stories to read as well, so those reviews should be up sometime next week. 

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! 

Have a good week everyone! 

Until the Stars Align Again, 

Shooting Stars Reviews. 


~Last Week~
Sunday Post: Remember Remember the 5th of November!

Giveaways-Tours: 








New Reviews:




Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 1:30 AM 3 comments

Saturday, November 18, 2017


Title: Ghostly Deceits
Series: A Harper Harlow Mystery #3
Author: Lily Harper Hart
Rating: 

Harper Harlow and Jared Monroe are going on vacation. Sort of. The newly minted couple are in a good place, so when Jared asks Whisper Cove's favorite ghost hunter to go to Harsens Island to visit an old friend and his family, Harper jumps at the chance. Josh Stoker and Jared have a lot to catch up on, including the hard financial times the Stoker family is struggling to deal with. In an effort to keep their business empire afloat, the Stokers have turned their ancestral family home into an inn, and this week they just happen to be hosting a murder mystery event. Harper and Jared are game to play, but when a real ghost shows up and a dangerous storm slams into the island, things spiral out of control. There's a murderer in the house, and Harper and Jared have to find out who it is before another body drops. Jared doesn't want to suspect his friend, but no one is off limits. When the truth comes out, two murders will be solved and Harper and Jared will be in an entirely new place in their relationship - that is if they can survive long enough to get off the island. It's all hands on deck for another ghostly mystery, and danger is the name of the game ... unfortunately so is betrayal.

    

Jared and Harper are going on vacation to one of Jared's oldest friend's house. It's going to be a murder mystery event, but it all changes when there is a real murder. Now, Harper and Jared must share her secret, and figure out what is really going on before it is too late. 

This book was really good. I enjoyed it  a lot more than the first two, and I liked how Jared and Harper acted together. I also thought the story was really interesting as well, and now I can't wait to read more. 
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 6:12 PM No comments

Friday, November 17, 2017


Title: Wicked Hearts
Series: An Ivy Morgan Mystery #9
Author: Lily Harper Hart
Rating: 

There’s no better time to be in love – and newly engaged – than Valentine’s Day. 
That’s what Ivy Morgan believes anyway. She’s happy, looking forward to spring, and eager to show her fiancĂ© Jack Harker around Shadow Lake’s infamous winter festival. Unfortunately for Ivy, things don’t go as planned. 
While visiting the community barn, one of the girls prepping for the annual pageant falls ill and Ivy has a terrifying vision of the event before it happens. It turns out the girl has been poisoned, and in an effort to watch the remaining girls, Ivy signs up to be a mentor. 
The Festival of Love Pageant is anything but a serene environment. The girls are at each other’s throats, the pageant coordinator is wound a little tight, and someone keeps going after the contestants. 
Jack is on the case but the evidence is thin and he’s running out of time. He can’t do it on his own and he’s reluctant to involve Ivy and risk making her a target. That means they have to work together. 
It’s up to Ivy and Jack to figure out an intricate plot, unravel some emotional distress associated with Ivy’s past and come to grips with her growing abilities. 
It’s going to be one heck of a pageant … that is if everyone can survive until the final curtain call.

    

Jack and Ivy are engaged now, and they are both very excited about it. But when the Valentine's day festival starts and the local beauty pageant begins things start to go bad. Ivy has some bad memories from the pageant she was forced into, and when one of the high school girls is poisoned, she decides to help out the investigation by helping out in the pageant. 

That doesn't go over so well, and she and Max end up having some issues. Then she and Jack have to do what they can to find the culprit before it is too late. 

This book was really very good, and we got to see another side to Ivy, and more in her past. It was really awesome, and I loved Ivy and Jack together. I was a little annoyed with Max though. Some of the things he did didn't make a lot of sense to me, but other than that I thought this one was good, and I was rooting for Ivy. 
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 1:11 PM No comments

Bookmark Us

Search Our Site

Blog Archive

Proud Tour Host!

♥Blog Awards♥

2016 NetGalley Challenge
100 Book Reviews
80%