Thursday, January 18, 2018



The Shadow Weave 
Annette Marie
(Spell Weaver #2)
Publication date: January 12th 2018
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy

Clio might be a nymph living in exile among humans. And she might possess the rare ability to mimic any magic she sees. And she might have just seriously ticked off the most powerful family of spell weavers in the Underworld.
But she is not in love with an incubus.
Lyre is the rebellious black sheep of said weaver family, and he’s the only reason she survived her recent Underworld “vacation.” He’s also the sexiest thing she’s ever seen. Together, they have to track down a catastrophically dangerous magic—a magic he created, she sort of stole, and they both lost—before his family gets their hands on it. And that means fighting alongside him in a desperate attempt to avert complete disaster.
But she is definitely not in love with him. At least, she’s pretty sure she’s not.
Mostly sure. Maybe sure? …Crap.
EXCERPT:
As though summoned by her thoughts, the sex fiend himself breezed into the room. Hair damp and tousled, the kind of face that made women’s hearts skip, broad shoulders that tapered to a toned torso. His tattered clothes should have ruined the look, but they added an extra edge—dangerous and exotic.
The others in the kitchen noticed his arrival, but they dismissed him just as quickly. Unlike most daemons, incubi were easy to recognize even in glamour. No other caste possessed that stunning combination of golds—white-gold hair, warm golden skin, vibrant irises like a dark patina over rich yellow gold.
Yes, they recognized him as an incubus—and they didn’t bother to hide their curling lips and wrinkling noses. Lyre either didn’t notice or didn’t care as he swept over to her, his expression brightening for the first time in two days.
“Clio,” he purred, voice too low for even keen-eared strangers to hear, “your powers of seduction would put any succubus to shame.”
She blinked at him, the bowl of whisked eggs in her hands and a hot pan sizzling in front of her. His mood was so different from earlier that she couldn’t quite grasp it.
“Huh?” she managed. How articulate.
“This is entirely unfair. I have no power to resist such tactics.” He waited a beat. “Are you planning to do something with those eggs?”
She blinked again, trying to unscramble her brain. Scramble. Right, the eggs. She dumped the mixture into the hot pan. “What are you going on about, Lyre?”
“Bacon,” he sighed dreamily. “Pancakes. Scrambled eggs. You slay me, my love.”
On the words “my love,” her heart screeched to a stop so fast it might have left skid marks on her ribs. It kicked back into gear at three times its previous speed and she concentrated so hard on the spatula that she almost went cross-eyed. “You—you can’t be that excited about my cooking. You don’t even know if it’s any good.”
“I can tell already. It’ll be delicious.”
She shivered. The way he said that word should be illegal. As she hurriedly stirred the eggs with a spatula, he stood so close he was almost touching her, his body angled toward her as though she held his entire attention. But his gaze, sliding coolly from one watching daemon to another, was distinctly unfriendly.
She scraped the eggs off the pan, then rescued the bacon from the oven—triggering a stir among the waiting daemons. With her bottom lip caught between her teeth, she pulled a plate from the cupboard, loaded it with food, and held it out to Lyre. She’d cooked an elaborate late-night breakfast to cheer him up, but now second thoughts were crowding her brain. Too late to change her plan now.
His smile only fueled her blush as he fished a fork out of a nearby drawer, loaded it with eggs, and scooped them into his mouth. She held her breath. The entire room went silent.
His eyes rolled back in ecstasy. “So good,” he moaned.
Bang.
She jerked around. The female daemon had dropped her heavy book on the floor. As everyone looked over at her, pink tinged the woman’s cheeks. She snatched up her book and beat a hasty retreat out of the room.
Clio swallowed hard, envious of the woman’s ability to flee. Lyre’s moan had been so sensual it had been downright scandalous, and if Clio didn’t put space between them soon, she was going to start swooning like a complete fool.


Author Bio:
Annette Marie is the author of the Amazon best-selling Steel & Stone series, which includes Goodreads Choice Award nominee Yield the Night, and fantasy trilogy Red Winter. Her first love is fantasy, but fast-paced adventures and tantalizing forbidden romances are her guilty pleasures. She lives in the frozen winter wasteland of Alberta, Canada (okay, it's not quite that bad) with her comparatively sensible husband and their furry minion of darkness—sorry, cat— Caesar. When not writing, she can be found elbow-deep in one art project or another while blissfully ignoring all adult responsibilities.

XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM No comments

Wednesday, January 17, 2018



Right Side 
Leigh Taylor
(Worth The Wait, #2)
Publication date: January 12th 2018
Genres: Adult, Romance

Beatrice Remington has one great love in life. Fashion.
When Bea followed her twin brother, Henry, and his ranching dream to Oaks, Texas after graduating from fashion school; running the local boot shop seemed like a dream come true. Bea has everything she wants in life with her thriving business and a budding collection of couture formal wear designs until she watches her brother fall in love. Bea realizes the missing piece to her happiness is the love of her best friend and secret crush, Al Bosco. After years of dancing around one another, Bea sets up a date with the town vet to make Al jealous enough to claim her. However, Bea’s plan backfires and leaves her alone in Oaks with nothing but one fake boyfriend, one broken heart and one wedding dress to design.

Al Bosco has one great love in life.
Beatrice Remington.

Al has spent his entire life as the third wheel to the Remington twins. Somewhere along the line, as Henry became his brother, Beatrice became the love of his life. Only he’s never had the courage to admit it out loud. When Al shunned the family business to become a ranch hand at The Waitin’ Ranch, he set off a chain reaction that ensured he couldn’t risk bringing Bea’s heart into the chaos. As he finally breaks down and returns to his hometown to make things right so he can give Bea everything she deserves; she walks in holding hands with the town vet and looking happier than ever. Al may have a bruised ego but he’s on a mission to win Beatrice’s love once and for all. When he finally returns to Oaks, will his girl still have a heart to give to him or will Al be left with nothing but regret?
Can Beatrice and Al get on the right side before their love story becomes another scrap on the cutting room floor?
EXCERPT:
I juggle my coffee as I slide the key into my studio door’s lock and push it open. Before I can get the lights on, the smell of fresh lilac hits me.
In the faint sunlight from the small windows, I see a floral arrangement on one of my work tables.
I flip on the lights and smile as I see the beautiful display in its glory.
The lilac sprigs are white and accent lush lipstick pink roses and baby pink peonies. It’s all my favorite flowers in my favorite colors.
I wonder if they’re a gift from Leslie so I cross the room quickly.
As I set my mug and my sketchpad down, I frown when I see the handwritten note by the flowers.
Not Leslie.
I finger the sheet of legal paper with lines of prose written in Sharpie.

Doubt the stars are fire;
Doubt that the sun doth move;
Doubt truth to be a liar;
But never doubt I love.
-Shakespeare



Author Bio:
Leigh Taylor is a native Texan who now calls the Windy City home. Leigh loves all things romance related including novels and classic movies. Her love of reading and Texas inspired her to begin writing and share her characters with readers everywhere. When she isn’t working or writing about cowboys, Leigh enjoys spending time exploring her city, playing with her pets and relaxing with friends over a cup of tea or whiskey.

XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM No comments

Tuesday, January 16, 2018



Visionary X Starlight
Yumoyori Wilson
(Earthala Series, #1)
Publication date: January 12th 2018 
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

Badass Princess meets Rookie Criminal Investigator…
Two different worlds – one unique connection – a whole lot of madness.
After being held prisoner most of her life, Makoto Heart is now free and currently staying in Realm Five, Minato. So, when her five knights surprise her with a trip to Realm Six, Earthala, she’s beyond excited to see what the hype is all about. Having no interactions with humans, she prays to the Starlight gods that everything goes smoothly – especially with a certain orange haired female and her group of criminal investigators.
Scarlet Sinclair has only had one real friend her entire adult life – which is one more than she had as a child – because no one wants to be friends with the crazy girl who fainted all the time and wore gloves year-round. When she finds out Junho’s friend Marcus is returning to Earthala and bringing with him his friends and one very special blue-eyed brunette, she’s intrigued.
None of them could have ever expected the car chases, mall fights, or sleepwalking adventures that would follow. Makoto and Scarlett are in for an eventful five days as their worlds clash on Earthala soil.
Visionary X Starlight is a FULL-LENGTH mashup of two series and the events that happen in between. Dark Wish – Book One in the Starlight Gods Series AND Visionary Investigator – Book One in Paranormal INC Series must be read to enjoy this series.
Recommended for 18+ audience, containing mature sexual content, violence and strong language.
NOTE: Visionary X Starlight is written in CANADIAN ENGLISH – meaning both American and British English is used.
EXCERPT:
“We’re…in public.”
“We’re in a private section, Firefly.” He countered, lifting up to stare into my eyes. I lowered my eyes to his lips, licking my own. He lowered his head, reading to kiss me again when he flinched.
“Mother fucker.” He swore under his breath, turning his head. I gave him a confused look, following his gaze to see Elias chilling on the dock, his legs swinging back forth with a wide grin on his face.
“Hey, Mako. You forgot your sunscreen at home. I thought I’d come and bring it to you,” Elias called out, his grin only growing wider. He waved the unfamiliar tube in his hand.
“Sun…screen?” I blinked, my cheeks feeling hot.
He totally did that on purpose,” Lexi mumbled, sounding utterly disappointed.
Marcus groaned, his eyes glowing a bright blue.
I watched the waves near the doc sway back and forth until one large wave formed and crashed into Elias. I tried to hold the set of laughter that threatened to leave my throat, my shoulders beginning to shake as I watched Elias blink, spewing out a stream of water.
I lost it, laughing my head off at his drenched appearance, his gold locks stuck to his face.
“Marcus! Why did you…hehehehe…do that?” I asked, trying to calm the laughter assaulting me.
“Serves him right. Always interrupting me and shit.” He mumbled.
“I’m not cooking for you tonight,” Elias threatened.


Author Bio:
Yumoyori Wilson is from Toronto, Ontario. She loves to sleep and write her days away. She works at night as a registered nurse. She has a little addiction to bubble tea and coffee but loves to workout. She has big plans for the writing world and can't wait to share them with everyone.




XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM 1 comment

Monday, January 15, 2018



Magic Runes 
Devyn Jayse
(Magic Runes #1)
Publication date: November 28th 2017
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy

Meet Carmen Rebello – Rune Witch, owner of the best magic store in Barcelona, and black sheep of her family.
When Carmen successfully removes a spell from a bewitched human, she never thought she would get ensnared in an ongoing Supernatural Bureau of Investigation case. Her life is already complicated by trying to stay hidden from her powerful family members, Carmen can’t afford the attention of joining the investigation but the SBI insist on her involvement. Add an annoying (but hot) SBI agent and her life is getting more difficult by the day. Can she help the SBI without exposing her identity?
EXCERPT:
“What are your plans for the week?” Mateu asked me.
“Nothing much. Business has been slow, so I’m thinking of giving a class.” Usually I supplemented my income by giving classes in various forms of magic. I taught runes, potion making, and other activities. Sometimes it was struggle to keep things afloat and earn enough to pay for rent, but my store served a purpose in the community and I enjoyed the work. I also liked being in charge of my own work hours. Like many of the other specialty stores in El Born, I opened and closed my store whenever I wanted. And my customers were okay with it. Most of them had my phone number and I left a note on the door for those who didn’t. If I was nearby, I could return to the store and help them with what they needed.
“Do you want me to tell the other gargoyles to talk up your services? Give you a small marketing push?”
I shook my head. “No, that’s okay, I kind of need this week to prepare. I have a speaker visiting the store next week. It’s going to require a lot of coordination and work. I’ve told the local covens but I’m going to have to send out reminders.”
“Whatever you like. If you change your mind, let me know.” Mateu returned to people-watching.
To drum up work and business, I had put together a little event for witches and wizards. I had invited many of the nearby covens to sign up. I had ordered a lot of inventory and had to send out a newsletter letting them know what was in the store. I hoped that would help increase sales.
“In fact…” My voice trailed off. Mateu’s shoulders had stiffened and his body was on alert as he stared out the window. I tensed. “What’s wrong?”
“Come over here,” Mateu said, still focused on whatever he saw outside the window. I walked around the counter and made my way to him. He got to his feet and stared intently at the street. As soon as I was within arm’s length of him, he asked me, “Do you see that woman?”
“Which one?” I searched among the people outside the store. Locals walked past us going about their daily lives while tourists gawked at everything they saw. Across the street was a larger group of tourists. They were focused on the tour guide who held a cane and pointed at various landmarks around them.
“The one in the red T-shirt. She’s part of the group.”
I resumed my search and spotted the woman he was talking about. She stood across the street, her body turned away from us. She gestured at the same buildings the tour guide did and talked to her companion who appeared to be bored from the restless way her head darted around looking at anything but the building in question.
“Yes? What about her?” Before the words had left my mouth, the woman turned slightly towards us and I immediately saw the problem.
A mark over her eye pulsed with a faint blue glow.
“Do you think she knows someone’s cast a spell on her?” Mateu asked me.


Author Bio:
Devyn Jayse is the author of the Dare Valari and Magic Runes series.

Join her Readers Group for exclusive content:
http://yes.join.devynjayse.com/readers-group





GIVEAWAY!
Enter to WIN a $25 Amazon gift card & an ebook copy of Magic Runes!
Click here to enter!
XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM No comments

Sunday, January 14, 2018

Welcome to the Sunday Post!
 A weekly meme hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer

 It lets everyone know what happened during our week.. 


 So check it out.

Hey fellow Shooting Stars!! 


Another week is done in this year! Happy New Year everyone! And I just celebrated my birthday last week so that was fun as well. 

I'm looking forward to all the good books that are coming out this month from Tijan, Nicola Claire, and Amanda M. Lee. Be sure to check out their books! 

Have a good week everyone! 

Until the Stars Align Again, 

Shooting Stars Reviews. 


~Last Week~


Giveaways-Tours: 




New Reviews:



Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 11:11 AM 3 comments

Title: Accelerating Universe
Series: The Sector Fleet #1
Author: Nicola Claire
Rating: 

"This is how we’d traverse the stars; limping and crippled, the last survivors of a dying solar system."

Fleeing from a past that almost killed her and a present that promises she’ll only burn, pay-for-passage passenger Ana Kereama boards the Sector Two lead vessel Pavo with only survival in mind.

What she finds is a reason to live, and it has nothing to do with New Earth.

Teaming up with the sexy and commanding Captain John Jameson to protect those on board their ship, Ana fights not only for her vessel’s survival but the intelligent being emerging within its gel coated walls.

Love and trust are born amongst the stars and plasma fire, but is it possible for a captain to be involved with a second lieutenant?

And can any of them hope to survive the treacherous voyage unscathed?

When humanity reaches for the stars in a race for survival, only the most daring amongst them will succeed.

    

This is a brand new series from Nicola Claire that is a little bit different from her normal stuff. Ana boards the Pavo vessel as the lowest woman on the totem pole, and soon things start to change for her. Not only does her position move up quickly, but she has a very strong attraction to the Captain of the ship. And when he needs her help to save the ship and a lot more people she stands up to help. 

This book was an interesting start to the series. I thought it was really good, and enjoyed the world building. However, I felt like a lot of the "romance" and relationship part was rushed, but other than that, I thought it was a really good book. This was very different from  a lot of the author's other work and I enjoyed that as well. I look forward to more in the series. 
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 11:02 AM No comments


Polarity of Us 
K.B. Ladnier
(A Northern Lights Novel)
Publication date: December 29th 2017
Genres: New Adult, Paranormal, Romance


My name is Daisy Lennox.
Life has been on the fast track to hell for me lately. Between my fiancĂ© cheating on me just weeks before walking down the aisle, and my career as an author going down the drain from lack of inspiration; I’m a hot mess. When it starts to feel like nothing will look up, my best friend Hannah comes to the rescue with a vacation in mind. One that involves leaving the city life of Chicago, for a more secluded one in a small town called White Hemlock in British Columbia, Canada. I thought nothing could bring back my inspiration to write, or my ability to feel so strongly for someone again.

That is, until I met him…

My name is Bastian Urso.
I’m not completely human and my life has been a mess for as long as I can remember. My wife was taken away from me by hunters for being what we are, leaving not only a gaping hole in my heart, but also leaving me to raise our daughter Addylin alone. We left our home in Alaska not long after for this secluded city called White Hemlock for a fresh start. Here, we found the peace we needed to move on with life, Addy being the only thing holding me together. But the pain and bitter loneliness of losing my wife only seemed to get worse with every passing day.

That is, until I met her…
Two people. Two different worlds. More than two hearts at stake. Daisy and Bastian are polar opposites in almost every way, but one; loving each other more than they feel they deserve to.
***This is a standalone novel and is recommended for ages 16+ due to language and some sexual situations***
EXCERPT:
When he stopped, I walked around him to see where we were. I couldn’t have been more surprised.
A small shack sat next to a pool of water that was steaming. The snow around the water was completely melted away with grass growing around it, making the spot look like it didn’t belong here. The shack looked newly built and only large enough for maybe two people to walk around comfortably without feeling claustrophobic. Behind it all was a backdrop of the mountains.
The place looked magical.
Bastian sauntered over to the pool and dove in. He flipped around in the water a few times then came back up. When he surfaced, he was no longer a bear. He was a very wet, sexy, naked man. The water was only deep enough to barely cover him from the waist down, showing off that glorious V-shape in his hips.
“What do you think?” He asked with his arms raised up.
“Uh…” What did he ask? Oh! The spot. “It’s beautiful. What is this place?”
“It’s one of the spots I camp at when I decide to hunt as a bear. I discovered the hot spring while chasing a moose one day and knew I had to come back. I built the shack in case Addy came with me or if I decided to change back into my human form. I can sleep in the cold as a bear, but just as a human is pushing it.”
“It’s amazing,” I replied, though I was looking at his body while I said it. I honestly wasn’t sure if I was talking about the spring anymore.
He laughed and held out a hand for me. “Yes, it is,” he said, obviously pretending I was talking about the spring. “Now, undress that beautiful body of yours and join me.”


Author Bio:
K.B. Ladnier is from a small city in Southern Mississippi. She has one daughter and three cats who she claims are stealing her soul in only tiny doses so she won't notice. She is a cyborg and spends most of her time hiding from her tiny human so she doesn't have to share her snacks as she reads her favorite books. She hates the beach yet lives only ten minutes away from it and daydreams of mountains and snow. She is married to a hot nerd and loves him dearly even though he hordes cookies and occasionally hides her prosthetic leg from her when she's mad, so he can get a quick escape. She plans to write as long as people continue loving what she does, otherwise she's going to say screw it and do her second dream of owning a coffee shop. Though, she may still do both.

XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM No comments

Bookmark Us

Search Our Site

Blog Archive

Proud Tour Host!

♥Blog Awards♥

2016 NetGalley Challenge
100 Book Reviews
80%